Skip to content

Software Testing Standards

August 12, 2009
Testing Standards:

BS British Standard

BS 7925-1 Software Testing Vocabulary

BS 7925-2 Software Component Testing

Def Stan 00-55 Requirements for Safety-Related Software in Defence Equipment

DO-178B Software Considerations in Airborne Systems and Equipment Certification

ESA European Space Agency

IEC The International Electrotechnical Commission

IEC 60300-3-9 Risk analysis of technological systems

IEC 61508 Functional Safety of electrical/electronic/programmable Safety-Related Systems

IEC 880 Software for computers in the safety systems of nuclear power stations

IEEE The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

IEEE 610 Standard Computer Dictionary

IEEE 610.12 Software Engineering Terminology

IEEE 730 Standard for Software Quality Assurance Plans

IEEE 829 Standard for Software Test Documentation

IEEE 1008 Standard for Software Unit Testing

IEEE 1012 Standard for Software Verification and Validation

IEEE 1028 Standard for Software Reviews

IEEE 1044 Standard Classification for Software Anomalies

IEEE 1044.1 Guide to Classification for Software Anomalies

ISO The International Organization for Standardization

ISO 9000 Quality management and quality assurance standards

ISO 9001 Model for quality assurance in design, development, production, installation and servicing.

ISO 9000-3 Guidelines for the application of ISO 9001 to the development, supply, installation and

maintenance of computer software

ISO 12207 Software life cycle processes

ISO 15026 System and software integrity levels

ISO 15288 System Life Cycle Processes

ISO 15504 Software process assessment

MISRA Development Guidelines for Vehicle Based Software (from the Motor Industry Software Reliability Association)

NIST The National Institute of Standards and Technology

NIST 500-234 Reference Information for the Software Verification and Validation Process

PSS Procedures, Specifications and Standards

PSS-05-0 ESA Software Engineering Standards

SEI The Software Engineering Institute

SE CMM            Systems Engineering Capability Maturity Model

SW CMM           Capability Maturity Model for Software

TMM Testing Maturity Model

ISO 9001
Provides a high level requirement that suppliers perform testing as part of verification and document it.
ISO 12207
Defines the requirement for specific verification and validation processes to support the primary processes of
development and maintenance.
IEEE 730
Requires the production of both a Software Verification and Validation Plan and the
documentation of any other tests.
‘Software Engineering Institute’ at Carnegie-Mellon University; initiated by the U.S. Defense
Department to help improve software development processes.
“Capability Maturity Model”, developed by the SEI. It is a model of 5 levels of organizational
“maturity” that determine effectiveness in delivering quality software
Level 1(Initial): The starting point for use of a new process.
Level 2(Repeatable): The process is used repeatedly.
Level 3(Defined): The process is defined and confirmed as a standard business
Level 4(Managed): The process management and measurement takes place.
Level 5(Optimizing): The process management includes planning process for
CMM rating organizations:
Total number of Organizations: 1018
Year Range
CMM Level 1
CMM Level 2
CMM Level 3
CMM Level 4
CMM Level 5
1992 to 1996
1997 to 2001
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: